The underlying mandate of the Ministry of Higher Education, Training and Innovation (MHETI) is to regulate higher education and to promote training and innovation in order to drive Namibia towards a knowledge-based economy. The MHETI derives its legislative mandate from the following Acts of Parliament:

  • Higher Education Act, 2003 (Act No. 26 of 2003)

  • Vocational and Training Education Act, 2008 (Act No. 1 of 2008)

  • Namibia Students Financial Assistance Fund Act, 2000 (Act 26 of 2000)

  • Namibia Qualifications Authority Act, 1996 (Act No. 29 of 1996)

  • Research, Science, and Technology Act, 2004 (Act No. 23 of 2004)